ISO 14001 experts win technical excellence award

Few minutes to read
By Elizabeth Gasiorowski-Denis
Published on

The group of experts that develops ISO 14001, the world’s most recognized framework for environmental management systems, has been awarded the Lawrence D. Eicher Award for excellence in technical work.

The distinction, which recognizes the significant contribution of an ISO technical committee or subcommittee to the development of International Standards, was presented at the 39th ISO General Assembly, running this week in Beijing, China.

According to ISO President Dr Zhang Xiaogang, ISO technical committee ISO/TC 207, Environmental management, subcommittee SC 1, Environmental management systems, was chosen for introducing “a number of innovations to help support its members and to promote its work externally”.


Standards support UN Sustainable Development Goals

In addition to ISO 14001, the subcommittee develops supporting standards for environmental management systems, including ISO 14004 on implementation, ISO 14006 on eco-design and a number of others standards currently under development such as ISO 14007 on environmental costs and benefits. Using ISO 14001:2015 can provide assurance to company management and employees, as well as external stakeholders, that environmental impact is being measured and improved.

This year, the standard celebrates its 20th anniversary. “For two decades, ISO 14001 has been helping organizations to better manage the impact of their activities on the environment,” said Acting ISO Secretary-General Kevin McKinley during the awards ceremony. “It is implemented in over 300 000 organizations and helps to support the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.”


Dr. Zhang presenting the LDE Award to Richard Taylor. Pictured here with Elisabeth Stampfl-Blaha and Kevin McKinley
ISO President Dr Zhang presented the LDE Award to Richard Taylor, Standards Market Development Director at the British Standards Institution (BSI), which holds the Secretariat of ISO/TC 207/SC 1, pictured here with Elisabeth Stampfl-Blaha, ISO Vice-President (technical management), and Kevin McKinley, Acting Secretary-General of ISO.

Mr McKinley commended the efforts the subcommittee had made as part of the revision of ISO 14001, including a continual improvement survey and the innovative ways in which it communicates and promotes its activities. This includes the use of technology and social media, such as Google hangouts and Twitter chats, as well the creation and maintenance of a successful Web presence.

He also highlighted the subcommittee’s effective leadership in increasing committee membership, including the desire to promote the involvement of developing countries, which ensures the presence of world-leading expertise within the committee.

“Through this award, we want to acknowledge the importance of this committee’s membership – which is among the highest of any ISO technical committee/subcommittee, containing many different stakeholders. This shows the worldwide interest in the work of this committee. Its 70 P-members and 22 O-members include countries of all levels of development in every region.”

The Lawrence D. Eicher Leadership Award was developed in 2002 to acknowledge excellence and innovation in technical work, as a tribute to ISO’s late Secretary-General who served from 1986 to 2002.

Default ISOfocus
Elizabeth Gasiorowski-Denis

Press contact

Journalist, blogger or editor?

Want to get the inside scoop on standards, or find out more about what we do? Get in touch with our team or check out our media kit.