ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is the world’s largest developer and publisher of International Standards. ISO is a network of national standards bodies of 172 countries, with a Central Secretariat in Geneva, Switzerland.

ISO standards are voluntary and we don’t regulate or legislate, although countries may decide to adopt our standards as regulations or refer to them in legislation. We have more than 25457 standards in our portfolio. Our programme ranges from standards for traditional activities, such as agriculture and construction, through mechanical engineering, manufacturing and distribution, to transport, medical devices, the environment, safety, information and communication technologies and to standards for good practice and for services.

Press contact

Default Press
Sandrine Tranchard

+41 22 749 03 11

More than 100 of our members are from developing countries and every full member has the right to take part in standards development, no matter what the size or strength of their economy. Currently the ISO standards-development system comprise 839 technical bodies including 238 ISO technical committees.

Our name

From the Greek isos, meaning equal. Whatever the country, whatever the language, the short form of our name is always ISO.

Our logo

The ISO logo is a registered trademark and, unless we specifically authorise it, its use is not allowed. If you’d like to use our logo, contact our press team.


Sergio Mujica

ISO Secretary-General

Sergio Mujica joined ISO as Secretary-General in July 2017, having spent 7 years at the World Custom’s Organization (WCO) as Deputy Secretary-General. Prior to working at the World Customs Organization, Mr Mujica spent 15 years working for the Government of Chile with the Ministry of Agriculture, the Ministry of Economic Affairs and as the Director General of Chile Customs

Read Sergio's full profile

Official Twitter account: @isosecgen

Sergio Mujica, Secretary-General (High resolution)

Central Secretariat premises in Geneva (High resolution)